After setup is complete, the app uses two methods to lock itself and prevent unwanted use. A locked Kiosk allows your community to use it freely while safeguarding your setup from accidental or intentional changes.
How Is The Kiosk Locked?
- Guided Access / Screen Lock prevents the donor from closing the Kiosk app or switching to another app.
- Mode Lock prevents donors from switching to a different mode or changing mode settings.
Guided Access / Screen Lock
Guided Access is a built-in iPad feature. Once you select a mode, the Kiosk will automatically display the following screen and prompt you to activate the screen lock.
Here's how to enable the feature:
-
Open the Settings app on your iPad.
- On the left side, scroll down and tap Accessibility. Next, on the right side, scroll down and tap Guided Access.
- On the right side, turn Guided Access on. Also, turn Accessibility Shortcut on.
- Switch back to the Kiosk app; it will still display the Activate Screen Lock message. If your iPad has a home button, press it three times in quick succession. Otherwise, press the top/power button three times in quick succession. You will see this screen. Tap Session Settings.
- We recommend keeping the Software Keyboard and Touch features enabled and turning off all other options.
- Tap Start / Resume.
- You may be prompted to create a Passcode, and then enter it again to confirm. Since the Guided Access feature acts as a Screen Lock, the Passcode serves as a numeric password required to unlock the screen.
- The Kiosk will now resume operation in the mode you chose.
Mode Lock
When you select a mode, the Mode Lock is automatically enabled. Tap the Lock icon to change your mode (Give Now, Give Now & Events, or Dedicated Form), adjust fee settings, or reconnect a card reader.
You will be asked for your User PIN, not to be confused with your Active Screen Passcode.
Updated