Kiosk uses PINs to control who can unlock and configure a Kiosk. This allows staff and volunteers to manage the Kiosk without requiring full Giving administrator access.
When are PINs Used
A Kiosk user will be required to enter their PIN:
- When initially setting up / registering Kiosk on their iPad.
- Any time they open the Kiosk app.
What You'll Need
- Administrator access to your ministry's Giving account.
- The first name, last name, and email address of each person who needs access.
Create a User
-
Sign in to your Giving account as an administrator, click the gear icon at the top-right corner, and select Device Settings.
-
Click the Authorized Users tab, then click the Add User button
- Enter the person's first name, last name, and email address.
- Click the Add User button. Giving automatically generates a six-digit PIN and emails it to the address you entered.
Important: We highly recommend that your user save the PIN email for future reference. They will need to enter the PIN each time they use the app.
How PINs Work
- When a Kiosk user opens the iPad app, they will be prompted to enter their PIN.
- PINs are auto-generated and sent by email. Users cannot choose their own PIN.
- Each user has their own PIN. PINs should never be shared with others, as transactions are attributed to the signed-in user.
- If a user forgets their PIN, reset it to issue a brand-new PIN by email. The old PIN stops working.
Reset a PIN
Within the Giving Admin Portal
In the list of users, click the 3-dot icon, then select Reset PIN.
Click the Send New Pin button in the pop-up window. A new PIN will be generated and sent to the user's email.
Within the Kiosk iPad App
Whenever the app opens, the user will be prompted to enter their PIN. On the verify screen, tap Reset PIN.
The user will be prompted to enter their email. They must enter the same email address that was originally registered. Once they provide their email address, they will receive a new PIN via email.
Remove or Disable Access
In the list of users, click the 3-dot icon, then select Remove Access.
Click the Remove button in the pop-up window. The user will no longer be able to use the iPad app.
Updated